‘Horns of Power’

OK, this post is going to sound nuts. You know when you see patterns of things that are hard to ignore? Like things happening in three’s or you find yourself thinking about something and it actually becomes real… like the next week or month? or why is it nearly every Dave I’ve met is bald and nearly every David I’ve encountered has a full head of hair?

That’s what we put down to ‘synchronicity’.  Seeing meanings in random occurrences, right?  But what if you see a pattern that is a little hard to simply pass off as a collection of coincidental events? What if there is something trying to contact you or show you a message?

For example, I’m being chased around (Hunted? Haunted?) by the image of an animal: the Stag.

This has been happening for nearly four years now.  I remember it beginning after I attended my very first Samhain ceremony with the OBOD Druid group, the Grove of the Corieltauvi, back in 2010.  The then Herald (main contactee, treasurer, secretary and organiser) had stepped down, allowing the present Herald to facilitate.  He also offered up the position of south and calling on the element of fire (represented in the Druid Tradition, at least in OBOD, by the Stag) after being stuck there for a number of years.  Eager bunny that I am, I volunteered to call it in future.  Little did I know that this wasn’t a static position and I ended up hogging it for three years… but I liiiiike iiiiiit….
Anyway, after that is when I began to notice the pattern of the Horned One in my life:

November 2010– Received a package and new exactly what was in it before I opened it: Stag antlers sent by Cthulhudruid as I requested them for a project that never came to pass.
December 2010– Was randomly given an early Yuletide gift of a slice of wood with a stag head image.

image

January 2011– Lady Morgana gave me her second Druid Animal Oracle after accidentally ordering two from the internet.  One of the animals depicted is the Stag… behind it are two birch trees, very much like the birch ‘twins’ to the south of my own personal Sacred Grove.
March 2011– Going into a cafe with Pipes and seeing the wall painted with different types of cervidae (official name for all types of deer, elks and includes antelopes).  Pipes had been given an award for being a ‘Woman of Substance’ of Nottingham.
April- August 2011– accepting my redundancy in March, I spent the rest of this time job-hunting until I successfully gained my present job.  Lots of Stag images all around in the form of flags, fliers, badges (given one by Lady Morgana), posters, pub signs… rather like the ‘Bad Wolf’ motif from Doctor Who.

2012 didn’t really have much activity until December that year, I was given one of those ‘Christmas Jumpers’ that were fashionable, mine has a Reindeer on it! When Morris dancing on Boxing Day, we performed at The Stag Inn.

February 2013– After giving a talk to the Newark Hearth & Home group, I was told I have antlers in my aura when I’m speaking.
June 2013– On the day of finding a random playing card (Ace of Clubs) I go to the Grove BBQ and fellow member Cymro ap Arthan presents me with a wand of Yew.  It was inspired by me calling upon the Stag of the South…

image

December 2013– Met a friend of mine in a pub that was filled with Stag imagery… it was the ‘Roebuck’.
En Route to our Alban Arthan ceremony, me and fellow Grove member, Briseilid pass a Warning: Deer sign (Represented by a Stag), then we pass The Stag Inn and joke about “Third time’s a charm”.  When we arrive at Strider’s house, Luch Dorca presented me with a bottle of Glenfiddich whisky as a ‘Thank You’ for doing some voice recording for him: check this link out for me reading his ‘Poison Pen’ story under his pen name of Simon H. Farmsworth and me under my Stage name of Dylan Knight :

2014:
At the Grove’s January planning meeting, Tatterhood gave me this New Year’s gift:

image

In January, I went to go and see Skindred with my brothers (one’s related, the other is a hostage), Pipes and some new friends.  The bar we met had antlers on the walls and antler chandeliers.

I have recently joined an amateur dramatics group in an effort to reconnect with my acting.  During rehearsal we used this bottle:

image

Last Tuesday’s ramblings through Sherwood Forest presented this piece:

image

So, what does it all mean? What is the Stag’s significance? In the Druid Tradition, the Stag represents independence, pride in one’s self as well as faith in one’s own abilities. It is about calling upon one’s own inner strength.  If this is true then this interpretation is apt as it seems to be manifesting when I begin new projects, especially those that mean I am reconnecting with the performing part of my life or doing something in life I actually want to DO.

Classically, the Stag is one of the symbols of sovereignty and fertility.  Great Britain had, at one time, a cult of the Stag, although this doesn’t automatically mean this was a cult of the horned deity Ernunno (Cernnunos).

I have come up with the following conclusions:
A: I’m completely mad and am just finding meaning in quite a common image, or at least one I have started taking notice of.
B:  I am being reassured by the Spirit of Stag that I am pursuing the right path in life.
C: I am being contacted by Nottingham’s own Sigil of a Stag for some reason, perhaps the same as B.
D: I projected my own intention into a symbol of my own inner fire and power.

If I had to choose, I’d say B and D.

Would just like to say I’m not using the title to say I have sovereign rights or that I am an emissary of the Stag, I took it from the movie ‘The Thirteenth Warrior’ and just thought it sounded cool. \m/

image

All photographs by Locksley 2010.

2 thoughts on “‘Horns of Power’”

  1. Hi David (I note the full head of hair), this is an interesting blog entry. For what it’s worth, here’s my two pennorth. For whatever reason (and we may never know definitively what it is) you have attached yourself to the stag as symbol. This may have happened accidentally, or it may have been a positive choice on your part, but whatever the underlying reason for the choice, it has developed into your own personal totem. Yes, you are projecting onto it, because I doubt very much if you have ever asked what the average stag thinks about being freighted with so much symbolic baggage from the human world (I, on the other hand, have had detailed and frequent conversations with crows about it :), and rocks). This being the case, you are now sensitised to the presence of stag images, and each one reinforces both your connection and your feeling of being stalked (how appropriate, stalked by a stag instead of the other way around). Frankly I would suggest that you stop worrying about it. The stag as symbol ‘talks’ to you, it probably says more about your own journey of inner development than about the ‘otherworld’, and that is fine. We, as you know I believe, live in an entirely symbolic universe, and the stag is clearly a particularly potent one for you.

    1. Hello Les,
      Thank you for your articulate and fascinating reply.
      Worried? Not at all! Just commenting on and sharing the recurring imagery.
      Thank you for your comment on Stag being a projection, I must have accidentally attached myself to this symbol as that wasn’t my intention, I was just happy to work in element of fire. But in doing so, must have created my own personal totem.
      The term ‘stalked’ was intentional as a play on words (glad you spotted it), but I actually feel more assured when I spot it.
      Whatever it is, I take the symbol as a sign of my life heading in the right direction. Whether this is true, or simply an acknowledgement of my own power, I am honoured it is this creature.
      I am beginning to believe we create different totems for ourselves depending on our growth in life.

Leave a Reply

