Last Day of August- A Poem

New Moon in ♍>♎

Vibrant green leaves sink as they droop. The zestful and fresh now looks worn and tired.

The morning sun apparently pale, blinds whilst low in the early view. Droplets of dew still linger.

I shiver in the shadow, yet roast in the light, children watch a bee groggily making it’s way on foot.

Clouds gather, but no rain comes down, the sky as blue as forget-me-nots.

There’s a shift in the season, a chill in the air. Lazy days enriched with anticipation.

The sun sets a blazing copper, damp in the air despite the clear sky. The first leaves are already being burned.

The moon rises a burning orange, then a thick yellow until she ascends into her silver brilliance.

Not quite full, yet pregnant with promise, like the season to come, we wait.

Ok, the photo was taken in September, but the sky was similar.

Here in the UK, we get what are called Bank Holidays which are our version of public holidays. There’s always one at the end of August and I wanted to catch that feeling of the last half of summer.

Locksley. /|\

8 thoughts on “Last Day of August- A Poem”

  1. Alright!! I’ll forgive you for featuring a lovely September pic in an equally lovely August poem… sheesh…

    Your post makes me smile… nearby wildfires have dominated the skies recently, so to see -and read- something blue and pretty makes me happy. ;c)

    Hope all is well with You and Yours.

    1. Thank you, lovely!

      Oh no! That’s happening near you?
      I’m glad to have provided some happiness for you, though.

      Things are well indeed, Devi and I are off to Scotland on Monday, exciting times ahead!

      Hoping you’re ok and aren’t being affected by the fires.

      1. Thank you, we will indeed! Sorry I tried replying earlier, I don’t think it worked properly. XD

Leave a comment